Bucharest Peace Treaty of 1812. A treaty signed by Russia and Turkey on 28 May 1812 following the war of 1806–12. Turkey ceded Bessarabia to the Russian Empire, the Prut River became the new Russian-Turkish border, and Russia was guaranteed the right to use the Danube River for trade purposes.

Encyclopedia of Ukraine