Northern Caucasia

Northern Caucasia. A region in the Russian Federation that was organized in 1924 (within the Russian Soviet Federated Socialist Republic) as the Northern Caucasian krai. In 1937 the krai was renamed Ordzhonikidze krai and it was further reorganized in 1943. The region of Northern Caucasia encompasses the northern slopes of the Caucasus Mountains, Subcaucasia and the Kuban region, and the southern Don region. Specifically, it consists of Krasnodar krai, Stavropol krai, Rostov oblast, and the autonomous republics of Dagestan, Kabardin-Balkar, North Ossetia, and Chechen-Ingush. Its area is 355,100 sq km, and its population is 16.9 million (1990). Thirty percent of the USSR’s petroleum and natural gas was extracted there in the 1960s. The southwestern part of Northern Caucasia lies within Ukrainian ethnic territory. (See also Caucasia.)

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 3 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Northern Caucasia entry:

A referral to this page is found in 32 entries.