Okruha (Russian: okrug). An administrative-territorial unit formed in the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic in 1923, when counties were abolished and replaced with 53 okruhas. In 1925 a consolidation took place, and the number of okruhas was lowered to 41. In 1930–2 okruhas were abolished and, after a further consolidation, replaced by oblasts. After the Second World War okruhas existed in Transcarpathia oblast until 1953. (See Administrative-territorial division.)

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Okruha entry:

A referral to this page is found in 52 entries.