Far Eastern Ukrainian congresses

Image - A Ukrainian demonstration in Vladivostok in the Far East (1917).

Far Eastern Ukrainian congresses (далеко-східні українські з’їзди; daleko-skhidni ukrainski zizdy). Congresses of Ukrainians in the Far East held in 1917–18. The first congress took place on 11–14 June 1917 in Nikolsk-Ussuriiskii (now Ussuriisk). The 57 delegates present passed resolutions demanding recognition of Ukrainian autonomy in the Far East by the Provisional Government in Petrograd and organization of Ukrainian soldiers in the Russian army into separate Ukrainian units. The second and third congresses took place in Khabarovsk on 7 January 1918 and 7 April 1918, and the fourth in Vladivostok on 24 October 1918. The third congress set up a central agency representing the Ukrainians of the Far East—the Far Eastern Ukrainian Territorial Council, which by the end of 1920 had held three sessions, and its executive arm—the Far Eastern Ukrainian Secretariat, which operated from 1918 to 1920.

[This article was updated in 2019.]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Far Eastern Ukrainian congresses entry:

A referral to this page is found in 3 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.