Siege Corps of Sich Riflemen

Siege Corps of Sich Riflemen (Osadnyi korpus Sichovykh striltsiv). An operational grouping of units of the Army of the Ukrainian National Republic formed on 3 December 1918 for the purpose of capturing Kyiv. Its principal combat units were the Division of Sich Riflemen, the Black Sea Division, and the Dnieper Division. It was augmented with partisan detachments, and at its peak reached a strength of 50,000 soldiers. On 15 December 1918 its units entered Kyiv, and in early 1919 the corps was deactivated. Its commander was Otaman Yevhen Konovalets.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 4 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Siege Corps of Sich Riflemen entry:

A referral to this page is found in 3 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.