Image - A Boiko church near Skole, Lviv oblast. Image - Skole: the Grodel Palace.

Skole. Map: IV-4. A city (2001 pop 6,742) on the Opir River in the High Beskyd and a raion center in Lviv oblast. It was first mentioned in historical documents in 1397. Under Polish rule the village was destroyed by the Tatars (1594) and by the Hungarians (1610, 1657). In the 17th and 18th centuries opryshoks were active in the area. After the partition of Poland in 1772, the town belonged to Austria, and in 1912 it was granted city status. In the interwar period it was held by Poland (1919–39). Today its main industries are lumbering, woodworking, building materials, and handicrafts. Its most valuable monument is the tripartite wooden Church of Saint Panteleimon (17th century), which contains a unique baroque iconostasis (photo: iconostasis).

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 4 (1993).]

Image - The Opir River near Skole. Image - Skole: the Grodel Palace. Image - Skole railway station. Image - Skole: Belfry of Saint Panteleimon Church (17th century). Image - Skole: Saint Panteleimon Church (17th century). Image - Skole: Iconostasis in Saint Panteleimon Church (17th century).

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Skole entry:

A referral to this page is found in 7 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.