Subcarpathian National University

Subcarpathian National University (Підкарпацький національий університет ім. В. Стефаника; Pidkarpatskyi natsionalnyi universytet instytut im. V. Stefanyka). Founded in Ivano-Frankivsk (then Stanislav) in 1940 as a teachers' seminary, it was transformed in 1950 into the Ivano-Frankivsk Pedagogical Institute. In 1992 it was reorganized into a university and in 2004 it was granted the status of a national university. It has eight teaching institutes: history and political science, law, sciences, philology, arts, pedagogy, tourism, and an institute in Kolomyia. It also has six faculties: philosophy, mathematics and computer science, physics and technology, economy, foreign languages, and physical education and sport. It has four educational centers in Kalush, Dolyna, Chortkiv, and Rakhiv. In 2010 its enrollment was 18,500.

[This article was updated in 2011.]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Subcarpathian National University entry:

A referral to this page is found in 4 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.