Azov gubernia

Azov gubernia [Azovska huberniia]. An administrative-territorial entity formed by the Russian government in 1708 out of the lands of the central Black Sea zone, the domain of the Don Cossacks, and a part of Slobidska Ukraine. Voronezh became the center of Azov gubernia in 1711 when the Prut Treaty of 1711 ceded Oziv to Turkey. In 1725 Azov gubernia was renamed Voronezh gubernia. Azov gubernia was re-established in 1775 out of Azov gubernia and Bakhmut gubernia. In 1783 it was abolished and incorporated in the Katerynoslav vicegerency (see Katerynoslav gubernia).

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Azov gubernia entry:

A referral to this page is found in 14 entries.