Diet of Carpatho-Ukraine

Diet of Carpatho-Ukraine (Soim Karpatskoi Ukrainy). The legislative body of autonomous Transcarpathia that was elected on 12 February 1939 and consisted of 32 representatives (29 Ukrainians and 3 deputies of the national minorities) from a single list of candidates presented by the Ukrainian National Alliance (Transcarpathia). According to the Treaty of Saint-Germain, the general statute of Subcarpathian Ruthenia (1919), and the Czechoslovak constitution of 1920, a separate Transcarpathian diet was to have been formed immediately after the incorporation of Transcarpathia into Czechoslovakia. But the Diet of Carpatho-Ukraine was established only by the constitutional act of 22 November 1938, which extended the autonomy of the territory and defined the powers of the diet. The diet sat for only one session, on 15 March 1939 in Khust, at which it approved the proclamation of Carpatho-Ukraine's sovereignty by the premier, Rev Avhustyn Voloshyn, on 14 March 1939, adopted a constitution, elected the president (Rev Voloshyn) of the new state, and confirmed a new government under the leadership of Premier Yuliian Revai. Avhustyn Shtefan was elected president of the diet, and Fedir Revai and Stepan Rosokha were elected vice-presidents. When Hungarian forces occupied Carpatho-Ukraine, the presidium of the diet was forced to emigrate.

Rosokha, S. Soim Karpats'koï Ukraïny (Winnipeg 1949)
Stercho, P. Karpato-ukraïns'ka derzhava (Toronto 1965)
Magocsi, P. The Shaping of a National Identity: Subcarpathian Rus', 1848–1948 (Cambridge, Mass 1978)
Shandor, V. Carpatho-Ukraine in the Twentieth Century: A Political and Legal History (Cambridge, Mass 1997)

Vasyl Markus

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 1 (1984).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Diet of Carpatho-Ukraine entry:

A referral to this page is found in 18 entries.