Kuban Territorial Council

Kuban Territorial Council (Кубанська Крайова Рада; Kubanska Kraiova Rada). Constituent assembly of the Kuban People's Republic. The Kuban Territorial Council (KTC) consisted of approximately 600 representatives, and was elected by male citizens only. The great majority of elected representatives were of peasant or rank-and-file Cossack (see Kuban Cossack Host) origin (60 percent) the remainder were Cossack or horodovyk (outlander) intellectuals (15 percent); and officers (25 percent). The KTC was formed in the spring of 1917. It convened to choose a Military Otaman (president of the Kuban Republic, elected for four years), to review and approve new legislation, and to resolve problems brought forward for its consideration by the Military Otaman or the Kuban Legislative Council (KLC) (at the request of two-thirds of its members) or at its own behest. The KTC was convened by the Military Otaman or the KLC. Its authority did not extend to deciding matters proposed by itself. The KTC could not meet with less than two-thirds of its members present. There were three sesssions of the KTC: in 1918, 1919, and 1920.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 2 (1988).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Kuban Territorial Council entry:

A referral to this page is found in 4 entries.