National Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education

National Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education (Національна медична академія післядипломної освіти ім. П. Шупика; Natsionalna medychna akademiia pisliadyplomnoi osvity im. P. Shupyka). An institution of higher learning in Kyiv. It was established in 1918 as a clinical institute of the Kyiv Medical Society and was reorganized in 1930 into the Kyiv Institute for the Upgrading of Physicians. It was reorganized into an academy in 1996 and assumed its current name. The academy consists of 3 institutes (family medicine, stomatology, and reproductive medicine) and 5 faculties (has 4 faculties (therapeutics, surgery, pediatrics, preventative medicine and pharmacology, and medical pedagogy), 81 chairs, a graduate program, a central research laboratory, and a library with over 200,000 volumes. Tens of thousands of physicians and pharmacists have attended the institute. Prominent medical specialists who have taught there include Mykola Amosov, O. Avilova, Fedir Bohdanov, Oleksii Kolomiichenko, O. Lazariev, Anatolii Nikolaiev, Hryhorii Pysemsky, Oleksander Shalimov, T. Syvachenko, Liudmyla Polevska, A. Vasiutynsky, and V. Vasylenko.

[This article was updated in 2017.]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to National Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education entry:

A referral to this page is found in 2 entries.