New Russia

New Russia [Новороссия; Novorosiia, Новоросійський край; Novorosiiskyi krai). The tsarist designation for the lands of Southern Ukraine annexed from the Zaporozhian Cossacks, the Crimean Khanate, and Ottoman Turkey. From 1764 the lands constituted a large part of New Russia gubernia, which in 1802 was divided to create Katerynoslav gubernia, Kherson gubernia and Tavriia gubernia. From 1812 the newly annexed province of Bessarabia, and from the early 20th century to 1917 the Stavropol region (gubernia) and the province of the Don Cossacks, were also considered part of New Russia.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 3 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to New Russia entry:

A referral to this page is found in 25 entries.