Odesa Astronomical Observatory

Odesa Astronomical Observatory (Одеська астрономічна обсерваторія; Odeska astronomichna observatoriia). A research institution of Odesa University, established in Odesa in 1871. It has two observation stations, in Maiaky and Kryzhanivka, which are equipped with five reflectors, five refractors, a catadioptrical telescope, a Schmidt camera, two meteor patrols, and a seven-chamber astrograph. In 1981 the decameter radiotelescope uran-4 was put into operation at Maiaky. The Odesa Observatory deals mainly with the determination of the celestial co-ordinates of stars and meteors, research into the nature of mutating stars and meteors, and the development of new telescoping and electronic systems. The observatory publishes its own journals Odessa Astronomical Publications and Odesskii astronomicheskii kalendar. Scientists such as Oleksander Kononovych, Aleksandr Orlov, and Volodymyr Tsesevych have been associated with the observatory. (See also Astronomy.)

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 4 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Odesa Astronomical Observatory entry:

A referral to this page is found in 6 entries.