Pereiaslav regiment

Pereiaslav regiment. An administrative territory and military formation in the Hetman state (see Regimental system). Mentioned in historical documents from the 1570s, Pereiaslav was one of the oldest regiments in Ukraine. In 1649 it consisted of 19 companies, numbering 2,900 Cossacks. In 1654 it had 11 companies, and in 1665 it had 13. After the Treaty of Andrusovo (1667) it was reorganized: seven companies from Right-Bank Ukraine's regiments of Cherkasy and Kaniv, two from Kropyvna regiment, and two new companies were added, and five were transferred to Kyiv regiment. The regiment took part in Bohdan Khmelnytsky's uprising (see Cossack-Polish War), the Chyhyryn campaigns, 1677–8, the Great Northern War (1700–21), the Russo-Turkish wars (1735–9 and 1768–74), and the Seven Years' War (1756–63). Two of its commanders, Pavlo Teteria (1653–8) and Yakym Somko (1660–2), became hetmans, and several others—F. Loboda (1649–53), V. Serbyn (1675–7, 1679–83), I. Lysenko (1677–9, 1690–2), and Leontii Polubotok (1683–7, 1689–90)—served on the General Officer Staff of the Hetman state. The regiment was abolished in 1781, and its territory was incorporated into Kyiv vicegerency.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 3 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Pereiaslav regiment entry:

A referral to this page is found in 33 entries.