Slovo publishing house

Slovo publishing house (Слово; Word). A privately owned publishing house in Kyiv that operated from 1922 to 1926. Its shareholders were primarily writers, activists in the Ukrainian co-operative movement, and workers in Kyiv’s publishing industry. The directors were Hryhorii Holoskevych, Pavlo Fylypovych, and Serhii Tytarenko. Slovo published several poetry collections by the Neoclassicists Mykola Zerov, Fylypovych, Mykhailo Drai-Khmara, and Maksym Rylsky; Hryhorii Kosynka’s first story collection (1922); Teodosii Osmachka’s first poetry collection (1922); two books of Zerov’s essays on Ukrainian literature (1924, 1926); the poetry anthology Siaivo (The Aura, 1922), edited by Zerov; and a collection dedicated to the memory of Petro Stebnytsky.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 4 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Slovo publishing house entry:

A referral to this page is found in 4 entries.