Moscow Ukrainian Theater of the RSFSR

Moscow Ukrainian Theater of the RSFSR (Український театр РРФСР; Ukrainskyi teatr RRFSR). Established as the Ukrainian Theater of Musical Drama in Moscow in 1924, with Lev Sabinin, D. Oleksiienko, and H. Brahin as the directors. In its repertoire were the works of Ukrainian classical and contemporary playwrights, including Ivan Kotliarevsky, Semen Hulak-Artemovsky, Mykhailo Starytsky, Marko Kropyvnytsky, and Oleksander Korniichuk. In 1932 it was united with the Moscow Ukrainian Theater-Studio under its current name. It was active until 1934.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 3 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Moscow Ukrainian Theater of the RSFSR entry:

A referral to this page is found in 3 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.