Association of Contemporary Music

Association of Contemporary Music (Асоціяція сучасної музики; Asotsiiatsiia suchasnoi muzyky or АСМ; ASM). ASM (1924–32) was a branch of an international society of contemporary music. It united composers who were oriented towards innovative movements in Western music, such as expressionism, constructivism, and jazz, and who propagated those trends in Ukrainian music. The president of ASM in Ukraine was Borys Liatoshynsky. The association was dissolved by a resolution of the Central Committee of the All-Union Communist Party (Bolshevik) on 23 April 1932.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 1 (1984).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Association of Contemporary Music entry:

A referral to this page is found in 1 entry.