Society of Writers and Journalists

Society of Writers and Journalists (Товариство письменників і журналістів ім. Івана Франка; Tovarystvo pysmennykiv i zhurnalistiv im. Ivana Franka). A professional association of Western Ukrainian litterateurs, which existed from 1925 to 1939. It was based in Lviv, and had about 60 full and candidate members. From 1933 on it held competitions and gave annual awards for the best literary works. The society was headed by Andrii Chaikovsky, Vasyl Stefanyk, Vasyl Shchurat, Bohdan Lepky, and, from 1934, Roman Kupchynsky.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 4 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Society of Writers and Journalists entry:

A referral to this page is found in 3 entries.