Hrono (Cluster). A literary and artistic group, created in Kyiv in October 1920, under the leadership of Valeriian Polishchuk. It opposed the ‘proletarian’ ideology of other groups and called for a ‘synthesis of existing trends’ and the ‘harmonious coexistence of the collective and the individual’ (‘Credo’ in the collection Hrono, 1920). Other members of the group were Pavlo Fylypovych, Hryhorii Kosynka, Geo Shkurupii, V. Cherniakhivska, Mykola Tereshchenko, Dmytro Zahul, K. Kotko, M. Stasenko, and the artists Mykola Burachek, Marko Kyrnarsky, Viacheslav Levandovsky, Serhii Pozharsky, and Heorhii Narbut. The group's activity was short-lived, lasting only until 1921.

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 2 (1989).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Hrono entry:

A referral to this page is found in 2 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.