Donetsk National University of Economics and Trade

Donetsk National University of Economics and Trade [Донецький національний університет економіки і торгівлі; Donetskyi natsionalnyi universytet ekonomiky i torhivli]. An institution of higher learning in Donetsk in the Donets Basin. It was established in Kyiv in 1920 on the initiative of Mykhailo Tuhan-Baranovsky as an advanced co-operative technical school. In 1927 it was renamed the Vlas Chubar Co-operative Institute. In 1934 it was moved to Kharkiv, where, after amalgamating with the Institute of Consumer Co-operatives in 1935, it was renamed again, becoming the Kharkiv Institute of Soviet Commerce in 1940. In 1959 it was moved to Staline (now Donetsk) and given the name Staline Institute of Soviet Commerce (later Donetsk Institute of Soviet Commerce). In 1992 it was renamed Donetsk State Commercial University and in 1998 was granted a national university status and assumed its present name.

The university is divided into three institutes and four faculties: marketing, trade, and customs regulations; hotel and restaurant business; and international students faculty as well as economics and technology faculty in Sevastopol. It also has a correspondence school and a graduate program. The university has educational centers in Simferopol, Luhansk, Mariupol, and Kryvyi Rih. It has library holdings of over 670,000.

[This article was updated in 2014.]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to Donetsk National University of Economics and Trade entry:

A referral to this page is found in 6 entries.