University [університет; universytet]. An institution of higher learning offering programs of study in all of the major academic disciplines. In 1991, there were 10 universities in Ukraine, with a total enrollment of 110,000. They were the Chernivtsi University, Dnipropetrovsk University, Donetsk University, Kharkiv University, Kyiv University, Lviv University, Odesa University, Simferopol University, Uzhhorod University, and Zaporizhia University. After 1992 the number of universities in Ukraine dramatically increased as the former institutes were en masse reorganized into universities. The normal program of study lasts five to five and a half years. Until 1992 universities were under the jurisdiction of the USSR Ministry of Higher and Specialized Secondary Education, and the Supreme Attestation Commission in Moscow was the body which conferred all university degrees and academic appointments in Ukraine, and which designated fields in which each institution could conduct degree training. In mid 1990s university students and staff have challenged the absence of university autonomy. (See Higher education.)

[This article originally appeared in the Encyclopedia of Ukraine, vol. 5 (1993).]

List of related links from Encyclopedia of Ukraine pointing to University entry:

A referral to this page is found in 95 entries.

Click Home to get to the IEU Home page; to contact the IEU editors click Contact.
To learn more about IEU click About IEU and to view the list of donors and to become an IEU supporter click Donors.  

©2001 All Rights Reserved. Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies.